About Bruce Peel

Bruce Peel

Bruce Braden Peel was born November 11, 1916 on a homestead near Ferland, in southern Saskatchewan, and grew up on the prairie. He earned a teacher's credential and in 1937 began teaching school in rural Saskatchewan, and later in Saskatoon. But he had ambitions which required more education, which the Depression and the outbreak of war served to delay. Although unfit for military service because of his eyes, he nonetheless volunteered, and ended up painting ships at the Lakehead. After returning to Saskatchewan, he took both bachelor's and master's degrees in history, then went east to earn a library degree at the University of Toronto. Returning to the University of Saskatchewan in 1946, he was appointed curator of the Adam Shortt Collection of Canadiana.

In 1951 he moved, with his new bride, Margaret, to the University of Alberta Library as chief cataloguer, rose to the position of deputy librarian, and in 1955 was appointed "Librarian to the University" – a distinctive title of which he was proud. Later offers from Toronto, McGill, and Western Ontario he politely declined, according to Margaret Peel, because of his unwillingness to leave his beloved prairies.

As a library administrator, he guided the growth of the University of Alberta Library from a very modest size to its present rank, as one of Canada's three largest research libraries; planned and developed six library facilities on the Edmonton campus (including the Cameron and Rutherford libraries) as well as the original library collection of the University of Calgary, which was a "branch plant" campus of the UofA until 1965. He served on seemingly endless library committees and boards, and was president of the Library Association of Alberta (LAA), the Canadian Library Association (CLA), and the Canadian Association of Research Libraries (CARL). In 1982, the year of his retirement, he was honored with the Canadian Library Association's Award for Outstanding Service to Librarianship, and later, in 1991, by an honorary doctorate conferred by the University of Alberta.

He was instrumental in the creation of both the University of Alberta's library school and its press, and a member of the seminal Symons Commission on Canadian Studies (1976-81), for which he drafted documents on the role of libraries in supporting Canadian studies, and the need for a national microfilming project, better known to us as C.I.H.M. [Canadian Institute for Historical Microreproductions], on whose Board of Directors he also served.

Bruce Peel was more than a great librarian and a great gentleman, he was a great bibliographer – an eccentric by his own definition. As he described it,

I first felt twinges of the mania when as a graduate student I discovered western materials I never dreamed existed, and my case worsened when my supervisor suggested the need for a regional bibliography. I might have recovered from the mania without any permanent impairment, had it not been for an invitation to tell an undergraduate English club about materials which prospective regional writers might exploit. And so I started writing titles on the backs of used catalogue cards and filing the cards in a shoe box … [and soon] I was hooked on the habit of collecting titles.

My intention was to have a bibliography compiled in a matter of months. In my blissful ignorance I assumed that most of the literature of the West was contained within the walls of the University of Saskatchewan Library. Now, after many years of searching through major libraries on this continent and in Europe, I admit that I probably have not yet rounded up that last title.

When the first edition of Peel's Bibliography of the Prairie Provinces appeared in 1956, no less a reviewer than W.L. Morton, writing in the Canadian Historical Review [v.37 (1956): 278-279], declared it

"… a priceless tool for all students of prairie history and literature and a fascinating compilation through which to browse."

Another reviewer hailed it as the product of "ten years of exhaustive and painstaking research." [Saskatchewan History, v.9 (1956)" 118-119]

It contained 2,769 numbered items. In 1963 a 130-page Supplement was published, which added a further 475 titles.

When the second edition appeared in 1973, its 4,408 numbered entries were described by one reviewer as "… abundant evidence of Mr Peel's bird-dog instincts in tracking down every item of possible eligibility for his bibliography," and shared the sentiment with still another reviewer that, "… perhaps it is not too early to express the hope that the work will be continued and that there will be further editions of this important reference work." [BibSoc of America Papers v.69 (1975): 142 & Sask History v.27 (1974): 118-119]

"Why are the titles relating to the Prairie Provinces so elusive?" Peel asked rhetorically in an essay entitled "In Quest of the Elusive." [Papers/Cahiers of the Bibliographic Society of Canada XIV (1975): 7 et passim] [Because] "Many [prairie] publications were ephemeral by nature. Perhaps few other regions of the world have had such a high percentage of early descriptive publications intended for the perusal of persons outside the region; I allude to the scores of immigration pamphlets." And, he might have added, the later ephemera endlessly churned out by the Canadian Pacific to promote immigration and tourism.

"Further, until recent decades there has been a paucity of local library and archival depositories in the Prairie region, where Prairie titles might be expected to repose. Even if a library has regional pamphlets, these were likely to be in dusty storage, unappreciated and uncatalogued."

The task of rising to these challenges falls naturally to a bibliographer, and – somewhat unwittingly – Bruce Peel devoted a large portion of his life, industry, and prodigious energy to addressing them.

Peel rarely felt the need to make apologies for the eccentricity of compiling bibliographies, but on one occasion he observed that bibliographers may be the oddest form of collector,

"… for they collect not the corporeal, but only the whiff of its essence. To psychoanalysts the bibliographer is basically a bibliophile who, too poor to buy books, finds a outlet for his frustrations by copying book titles on scraps of paper. Yet I like to think that these eccentrics are also preservers of our cultural heritage."

Expanding on this theme, he added:

"A bibliography is more than a record of books; it is a record of the people who wrote and published. Some prairie poets might have better ended up mute, inglorious Miltons in country churchyards, than to have published their literary remains. But I feel sympathy, nay affection, for all these people who expressed such creativity as they had … in the preparation of a book or a pamphlet. And they owe me something too, for by my record the names of many have been preserved from oblivion."

"Owe" him, they might, but dead authors and publishers are also deadbeats. As for his reward and recompense for his labours as a bibliographer, Peel wrote:

"It has pleased me to contemplate that western Canadian author entries in library catalogues, perhaps all over the world, are more complete because of my searches. This is psychic income – and being untaxable, is all the sweeter."

Collection Stats

Bibliographic records:10,527
Digitized Items:7,535
Digitized Pages:758,130
Newspaper Issues:67,019
Newspaper Pages:646,697
Newspaper Articles:4,909,669
Newly Mounted Issues:293
Images:16,298

À propos de Bruce Peel

Bruce Peel

Bruce Braden Peel est né le 11 novembre, 1916 sur une ferme près de Ferland, dans le Sud de la Saskatchewan et grandit sur la Prairie. Il acquit la titularisation en enseignement et en 1937, il commença à enseigner dans la Saskatchewan rurale et plus tard, à Saskatoon. Cependant, ses ambitions ne pouvaient être réalisées à moins qu’il s’éduque davantage, une impossibilité en raison de la dépression des années 30 et le début de la guerre. Bien qu’il fut inapte au service militaire à cause de ses yeux, il se porta bénévole et se retrouva à Lakehead, pour peinturer des navires. Lorsqu’il retourna en Saskatchewan, il fit un baccalauréat et une maîtrise en Histoire puis alla dans l’Est pour être diplômé en bibliothéconomie à l’Université de Toronto. De retour à la University of Saskatchewan en 1946, il fut nommé conservateur de la collection Adam Shortt Collection of Canadiana.

En 1951, il déménagea avec sa nouvelle épouse, Margaret, pour occuper le poste de chef du service de catalogage à la bibliothèque de la University of Alberta. Ensuite, il devint adjoint au bibliothécaire en chef et en 1955, il fut nommé « Bibliothécaire de l’Université », titre réputé dont il était fier. Plus tard, il refusa poliment les offres d’emploi parvenant de l’Université de Toronto, l’Université McGill et la University of Western Ontario parce que, selon Margaret Peel, il refusait de quitter ses prairies bien aimées.

En tant qu’administrateur de la bibliothèque, il géra la croissance de la bibliothèque de la University of Alberta qui passa d’une taille assez modeste à son rang actuel, une des plus importantes bibliothèques de recherche du Canada. Il planifia et développa six installations pour la bibliothèque dans la cité universitaire d’Edmonton (y compris les bibliothèques Cameron et Rutherford) ainsi que la première collection de la University of Calgary, une cité universitaire « succursale » de la University of Alberta jusqu’en 1965. Il siégea sur d’innombrables comités et conseils de bibliothèque et fut président de la Library Association of Alberta (LAA), la Canadian Library Association (CLA), et l’Association des bibliothèques de recherche du Canada (ABRC). En 1982, l’année qu’il prit sa retraite, la Canadian Library Association lui décerna le prix Outstanding Service to Librarianship (Services exceptionnels en bibliothéconomie), puis en 1991, la University of Alberta lui conféra un doctorat honorifique.

Il joua un rôle déterminant dans la création de l’école de bibliothéconomie et les presses de la University of Alberta. Il fut membre de la déterminante Commission Symons sur les études canadiennes de 1976 à 1981, pour laquelle il rédigea des documents portant sur le rôle que joue les bibliothèques pour appuyer les études canadiennes et la nécessité d’un projet national de microfilmage, mieux connu sous le nom ICMH (Institut canadien de microreproductions historiques), où il siégea également sur le conseil d’administration.

Bruce Peel était beaucoup plus qu’un bibliothécaire et un gentleman exceptionnel, c’était aussi un bibliographe talentueux, un excentrique, de par sa propre définition. Il écrivit,

J’ai ressenti les premiers élancements de la passion alors que j’étais un étudiant diplômé quand je découvris des documents de l’Ouest dont j’ignorais totalement l’existence. Mon cas s’est aggravé lorsque mon superviseur me proposa la nécessité d’une bibliographie régionale. Il est possible que je me sois remis de la démence sans dommages permanents si je n’avais pas été invité à décrire à un club d’étudiants du premier cycle en Anglais des documents dont les écrivains régionaux potentiels pourraient éventuellement exploiter. Et voilà comment je me suis mis à noter des titres à l’endos de vieilles fiches que je classais dans une boîte à souliers … [bien vite] j’étais rendu accro de la collection de titres.

Mon intention était de compiler une bibliographie en quelques mois. Ma douce ignorance me permettait de croire que la plus grosse part de la littérature de l’Ouest se trouvait dans la bibliothèque de la University of Saskatchewan. Aujourd’hui, après plusieurs années de recherche dans d’importantes bibliothèques de ce continent et en Europe, j’admets que le dernier titre m’échappe encore sûrement.

Lorsque la première édition de Peel's Bibliography of the Prairie Provinces est apparu en 1956, le critique estimé W.L. Morton, écrivant pour la revue The Canadian Historical Review [vol. 37, (1956) : p. 278-279], la déclara

« … un outil indispensable pour les étudiants en Histoire et en littérature des Prairies ainsi qu’une rédaction fascinante à feuilleter. »

Un autre critique la salua comme étant le fruit de « dix ans de recherche exhaustive et minutieuse. » [Saskatchewan History, vol. 9 (1956) p. 118-119]

Elle comptait 2 769 entrées numérotées. En 1963, un supplément de 130 pages fut publié, ajoutant 475 titres au compte.

Lorsque la deuxième édition est parue en 1973, un critique décrivit ses 4 408 entrées numérotées comme « … preuve abondante des instincts de chasse formidables de M. Peel pour dénicher chaque entrée risquant d’être éligible à sa bibliographie, » et partagea la pensée d’un autre critique, « … il n’est peut-être pas trop tôt pour exprimer l’espoir de voir ce travail poursuivi ainsi que la parution d’autres éditions de ce livre de référence important. » [BibSoc of America Papers vol. 69 (1975) : p. 142 & Sask History vol. 27 (1974) : p. 118-119]

« Pourquoi les titres relatifs aux Prairies sont-ils si insaisissables? » demanda Peel sans s’attendre à une réponse, dans un essaie intitulé « In Quest of the Elusive » (À la quête de l’insaisissable). » [Cahiers /Papers de la Société bibliographique du Canada XIV (1975) : 7 et passim] [Parce que] « Plusieurs publications [des Prairies] étaient éphémères, de par leur nature. Il se peut qu’un nombre très faible de régions du monde ont eu un pourcentage si élevé de premières publications descriptives à l’intention de gens vivant en dehors de la région, comme ce fut le cas ici; je fais allusion aux innombrables brochures destinées aux immigrants. » Il aurait pu ajouter aussi, les nombreuses publications éphémères publiées plus tard par les Chemins de fer Canadien Pacifique afin de promouvoir l’immigration et le tourisme.

« De plus, jusqu’aux décennies les plus récentes, les bibliothèques municipales et les archives des Prairies accusaient une pénurie de lieux d’entreposage, endroits où l’on pourrait s’attendre à trouver les titres des Prairies. Même dans le cas où une bibliothèque possède des brochures régionales, elles étaient souvent entreposées dans la poussière, sous-estimées et non cataloguées. »

Bien entendu, la tâche de relever ces défis revient au bibliographe, et – de façon quelque peu accidentelle – Bruce Peel dévoua une partie importante de sa vie, de son zèle et de son énergie prodigieuse à les aborder.

Peel ressentit rarement le besoin d’excuser la manie qu’il avait de dresser des bibliographies, mais une fois, il remarqua que les bibliographes étaient peut-être les collectionneurs les plus bizarres car,

« … ils ne collectionnent pas le corporel, mais seulement l’odeur de son essence. Pour le psychanalyste, le bibliographe est fondamentalement un bibliomane qui, incapable d’acheter des livres, trouve un exutoir pour ses frustrations en recopiant les titres de livres sur des petits bouts de papier. Pourtant, j’aime croire que ces excentriques sont aussi les gardiens de notre patrimoine culturel. »

Il développa ce thème en ajoutant :

« Une bibliographie n’est pas uniquement un registre de livres; ce sont des archives d’auteurs et d’éditeurs. Certains poètes des Prairies auraient très bien pu finir muets, des La Fontaine sans gloire enterrés dans des cimetières de campagne, plutôt que d’avoir leurs restes littéraires publiés. Mais je ressens de la sympathie, non, de l’affection pour tous ces gens qui ont exprimé cette créativité qu’ils avaient… en préparant un livre ou une brochure. En retour, ils me doivent quelque chose aussi, car c’est grâce à mes efforts que le nom de plusieurs a échappé à l’oubli. »

Lui « devoir » quelque chose, c’est possible mais les auteurs et les éditeurs morts sont aussi des fainéants. Quant à la récompense pour son travail de bibliographe, Peel écrivit :

« Il m’a fait plaisir de penser que les entrées des auteurs de l’Ouest canadien dans les catalogues de bibliothèques, peut-être à l’échelle du monde, sont plus complètes en raison de mes recherches. Ceci représente un revenu psychique, et comme il n’est pas imposable, est d’autant plus doux. »

Collection Stats

Bibliographic records :10,527
Nombre total de documents :7,535
Nombre total de pages :758,130
Numéros de journaux :67,019
Pages de journaux :646,697
Newspaper Articles :4,909,669
Images :16,298